Why not blog in English?

I got a request to do the movie blog in English instead. I write this to show you it wouldn't work. Yeah, sure, I'm gonna study Engelska C this fall, but I'm still really bad at writing in English. With all the spelling, grammar and so on. I've always pictured myself as a farely good listener though. Until yesterday. Listening to Stephen Fry's reading of Harry Potter and the chamber of secrets (for the second time) is hardly difficult. The book is written in a pretty easy-to-understand English. But yesterday evening, my boyfriend wanted to see The original kings of comedy. As we downloaded rented it, we tried to find it with subtitles. I've got no problem reading English subs if the Swedish aren't available, but we couldn't find any what so ever.



I've seen movies before without subs and it's never been to hard. Of course I had a hard time trying to hear what Tommy Lee Jones said in No country for old men, but I managed (even though I actually missed what he said in the last scene, damn it). The original kings of comedy started off good. I didn't even have to concentrate that hard because Steve Harvey talks very slow, loud and clear. Then it was time for D.L. Hughley to go on stage. And as soon as he opened his mouth, he lost me. My boyfriend sat in the couch laughing and I heard maybe 60% of what the man said. And trying to watch stand up only understanding a little more than half of it is impossible. Also, Bernie Mac was the last comedian to go on stage and I know I can't understand him (check out his stand up routines on youtube and you'll understand what I mean).

It was like sitting in the cabin in Finland with my grandpa. He only spoke Finnish and I don't understand Finnish at all. Everyone always laughed as soon as he said something and, according to my father, he was hilarious. That was the feeling I got watching this movie. Sitting in the couch not understanding the jokes while my boyfriend laughed beside me.

If I can't download find the subs, I won't be able to see this stand up-movie. So if any of you have any idea where to find the subtitles, let me know. OK?

Och nu vet ni varför jag håller mig till att skriva på svenska.
Ni är välkomna att räkna ihop grammatiska fel, särskrivningar och stavfel.
Den som kommer närmast 100 vinner. 

Kommentarer
Postat av: ya

http://www.divxsubtitles.net/page_subtitleinformation.php?ID=51417

2009-08-13 @ 03:57:33

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0